With the win over Donegal, Kerry won his first National League title since 2017

With the win over Donegal, Kerry won his first National League title since 2017

Under the management of Peter Keane, Kerry won their first national senior title.

If their expected win against Donegal is designed, the other three final round Division 1 games will not take place until Sunday but will not top the list.

The league final was canceled due to a short season due to Kovid-19. Therefore, for the first time since Mayo’s victory in 1936, the team that topped the list won silver medals.

This is Kerry’s first league title since 2017. Team captain David Clifford scored 0-6, including two freebies. Teammate Tony Brosnan came out on top 0-5, claiming to be on the championship team to see Cork in two weeks.


Kerry’s David Clifford against Donegal ‘s Stephen McMahon in the Alliance Football League Division 1 draw at Austin Stock Park in Trolley. Photo matte brawn / sports file

Eight days before the Ulster Championship showdown against Tyrone in Donegal – there was nothing to play effectively as their place in Division 1 was safe next season – they only put up a weak team on the field, keeping only the six teams that started the main clash against Tyrone last weekend. .

They have only won once on Kerry soil – in November 1988 they lost in a league draw on their first trip to the Kingdom for a league draw. They have now lost nine in Kerry’s spin, but by Saturday afternoon they were done with their duties.

Donegal’s absentees include Michael Murphy, Ryan McHugh and Neil McGee, who gave the Declan Bonner a chance to give his players a runout against last year’s All-Ireland finalists.

Despite the wind, Donegal played a lot of lateral football in the first half because the lack of a clear target man controlled their options. After Ciaran Thompson’s double strike, they scored two points early on.

The lack of intensity about the match was evident, as Diormoid possessed O’Connor and Jason Foley, and in the latter case James Brennan made a superb steal from O’Connor to miss a goal chance after receiving a goal. Sent him clearly.

Foley’s early misery continued when he sinned for a hand trip just before the water break, and the Oyson gallon tapped free to give visitors a 3-2 win.

Kerry responded positively to that setback with a lofty goal. Tom O’Sullivan’s speed and vision kept the ball in the middle three before Sean Ozia had a chance to beat Sean Patton from close range.

Kerry quickly found another gear, creating four goal chances in several minutes, making it 1-3.


Kerry’s Sean Ozia scored his first goal of the season, beating Donegal goalkeeper Shaun Patton during the Alliance Football League Division 1 clash at Austin Stack Park in Trolley. Photo: Matt Brown / Sports File

Their second was a brilliant solo attempt by Gavin White, and Tony Brosnan could have scored two goals, but both of his attempts – the first after David Clifford had cleared the way – were scored by Dr. Even after Crokes’ player blocks Patton’s kick out – crossbar.

Paddy McGrath was blackmailed in the 30th minute but half of the visitors won in the final ten minutes.

They were unlucky when midfielder McGonigall was unlucky to see a rapping shot fly just above the crossbar. But at the break Kerry was seven points ahead in the driving seat, 2-9 to 0-8.

The scoring rate dropped in the third quarter and both teams started to run the bench but Clifford advanced with two excellent long range points and ended the half 0-4. The poverty of Donegal’s effort in the second half was just 0-2.

The game came to its inevitable conclusion as both sides thought about the big challenges of getting off the track quickly.

Scorers: Kerry – S Ozia 1-4, D Clifford 0-6, 2F, T Brosnan 0-5 1m, G White 1-0, TO Sullivan, D Moran, D Moynihan 0-1 each. Donegal – C Thompson 0-5, 2F, J McGee 0-2, O’Gallen 0-2, 1F, C McGonagall 0-1.

Kerry: S. Ryan; J. Foley, T. Morley, T. O. Sullivan; P Murphy, P Crowley, G White; D Moran, D O Connor; M. Burns, S. Oshia, R. Buckley; T. Brosnan, D. Clifford, D. Moynihan. Subs: Moran 43m.

Donegal: S. Patton; P McGrath, B McCall, S McMenamine; C. Ward, E. Doherty, J. McKelvy; C. McGonigall, J. McGee, A. McLean, C. Thompson, D. O. Baoyil, J. Brennan, M. Lankan, O. Galen. Subs: P Morgan Forward HD; McMenamin E McHugh for 46m and Brennan NO Donnell for 51m. McGee is the EO Donnel for the 51m and Gallon is the CO Donnel for the 63m.

Referee: Connor Lane (Cork).

Online editors

See also  Credit card fraud: France is one of the most dangerous countries!
Written By
More from Scout Mitchell
“An Arc of Light”, she is free, Eva – liberation
Roman The article is reserved for subscribers Irishman Dermot Bolger portrays a...
Read More
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.