“WhatsApp” may block a popular feature from millions of users forever

"WhatsApp" may block a popular feature from millions of users forever

Last year, similar to “Snapchat” and “Instagram”, the “WhatsApp” application introduced a new option called “One Time View” to allow users to send photos and videos that disappear after opening.

Now, the Meta-owned company wants to improve the feature, this time by preventing users from taking screenshots and screen recordings of photos and videos sent through the “one-time view” feature.

Although the Mark Zuckerberg-owned company announced its intention to prevent millions of users across Android and iPhone devices from taking “screenshots” of “one-time viewing” messages, it has now been made available as a test to some. users.

“The Sun” newspaper reports that the technicians at WABetaInfo revealed this feature in the beta version of “WhatsApp” on Android, which means that users of the beta application (WhatsApp Beta) can try it out.

WABetaInfo explained that when you try to take a screenshot, the images will be completely black and some users will lose the ability to take a screenshot.

The site pointed out that the new feature includes some interesting details, as the sender will not receive a notification if the screenshot attempt is blocked.

However, it is possible for someone to use the phone’s camera or other device to actually capture the screen. There is no way to detect this.

It is not yet clear when the screenshot ban will be published in the public version of WhatsApp.

See also  They pay you, and here's how
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.