Those who can’t guarantee fans at the stands can’t host Euro 2020

Those who can’t guarantee fans at the stands can’t host Euro 2020

Euro 2020 postponed for one year. The 16th edition of the European Championship is expected to be played in twelve different countries from June 11 to July 11. After the inauguration of Prime Minister Boris Johnson, England nominated itself as the sole organizer of the event. After Easter, the time needs to be tightened. UEFA President Seferin heard the voice and sent a very clear message that there is no need to play behind closed doors for the European Championship, countries that can not guarantee the presence of fans on the stands: “Each country hosting the Euro 2020 tournament must ensure the presence of fans in the tournament. The ideal situation for us would be to have twelve countries hosting the event, but if this is not possible, the tournament will continue in ten or eleven countries.”

It will be decided in April

The speech of the UEFA President is very clear. In European matches, there must be fans, and the countries that want to host the event must allow spectators to enter the stadiums. It is not certain that all host nations will open stadiums next summer, which will remove those who cannot guarantee and change the venues for some matches: “We have a lot of plans, but The only assurance we have today is that Euro 2020 is not compatible It’s not in question in an empty stadium. “. The UEFA Executive Committee will meet on April 19 and a Congress will convene the next day to take a final decision. So all twelve countries have a month to decide.

See also  Northern Ireland stop Italy - Gala in second half: National team fixes World Cup ticket! - Sports

England are ready to take over

As English Premier Johnson prepares to host the entire European Championship, Two British cities, Glasgow and Dublin Risk is avoided. Why the Scottish and Irish governments do not allow fans to participate in live matches. With the withdrawal of Glasgow and Dublin, England would be the ideal place for logistic reasons.

States hosting Euro 2020 matches

The opening match will take place on June 11 at the Rome Olympics, with the semi-finals and final at Wembley. The twelve phases of Euro 2020 are:

  • Amsterdam (Netherlands) – Johan Cruyff Arena;
  • Baku (Azerbaijan) – Olympic Stadium;
  • Bilbao (Spain) – San Mymes;
  • Bucharest (Romania) – National Arena;
  • Budapest (Hungary) – Puskas Arena;
  • Copenhagen (Denmark) – Parken Stadium;
  • Dublin (Republic of Ireland) – Aviva Stadium;
  • Glasgow (Scotia) – Hampden Park;
  • London (England) – Wembley;
  • Munich (Germany) – Alliance Arena;
  • Rome (Italy) – Olympic Stadium;
  • St. Petersburg (Russia) – Krestovsky Stadium.

Written By
More from Calvin Andrus
“A good start to the cross-country season”
“I had a lot of fun,” Downsteiner said after his win. “I...
Read More
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.