The Northeast Atlantic states create a new marine protected area

The Northeast Atlantic states create a new marine protected area

LISBON, Portugal (AP) – Governments in 15 countries across the Northeast Atlantic have created a new protected maritime area that is said to be larger than the combined territory of Germany and the United Kingdom.

Countries have designated a marine protected area of ​​600,000 square kilometers (approximately 230,000 square miles) for seabirds as part of efforts to ensure the conservation and sustainability of marine biodiversity.

The area of ​​the protected area is considered crucial for the feeding and reproduction of local and migratory seabirds.

Government officials also gave their blessing at a meeting in Portugal on a new Northeast Atlantic environmental strategy that includes commitments to reduce climate change, marine acidification, loss of biodiversity, pollution and pollution from marine plastics.

The plan aims to reduce marine pollution by 50% by 2025 and 75% by 2030.

15 countries are participating in the OSPAR Convention. These include Germany, Belgium, Denmark, Spain, Finland, France, Ireland, Iceland, Luxembourg, Norway, the Netherlands, Portugal, the United Kingdom, Sweden and Switzerland. It is also a member of the European Union.

See also  Trinity College Dublin's old library to close for three years! • Guide
Written By
More from Harding Hansen
Diese Show-Highlights heute: “Die Zukunft des Kinos” and “Was nun?”
Are you sure you want to delete Show-Tipps sonutag? You have to...
Read More
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *