The German national team escapes tough opponents in World Cup qualification – the national football team

The German national team escapes tough opponents in World Cup qualification - the national football team

As expected, the German national soccer team is avoiding the big nations in qualifying for the 2022 World Cup.

According to the current FIFA World Rankings (November 27), national coach Joaquim Low has been ranked 13th in the world since his last international appearance in 2020. As the ninth best country in Europe, Germany topped the draw for qualifying groups during a trip to Qatar on December 7 in Zurich.

Belgium is ahead of France and Brazil in the world rankings. Rankings are calculated using a complex equation, through which points are determined based on various variables such as the results and strength of opponents. The 6-0 defeat to Spain’s DFB selection had no serious consequences, at least in the qualifying draw.

The allotment to the first lottery box is important because dual matches with powerful countries such as France, Spain, Portugal and England are avoided. Switzerland tops the Pot 2 rankings as the best team. Only the winners of the ten groups will qualify directly for the World Cup.

Ten runners-up match with two unqualified group winners in the Nations League Two play-offs for the remaining three matches in a total of 13 European starting points. The elimination round will take place from March to November 2021.

An Overview of Lottery Pots for Lottery

Pot 1: Belgium, France, England, Portugal, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Denmark, Germany, Netherlands

Pot 2: Switzerland, Wales, Poland, Sweden, Austria, Ukraine, Serbia, Turkey, Slovakia, Romania

Pot 3: Russia, Hungary, Republic of Ireland, Czech Republic, Norway, Northern Ireland, Iceland, Scotland, Greece, Finland

READ  6 Nations Tournament (U20 / J4): Les Bluetse sign for third consecutive victory over Scotland

Pot 4: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovenia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Albania, Bulgaria, Israel, Belarus, Georgia, Luxembourg

Port 5: Armenia, Cyprus, Faroe Islands, Azerbaijan, Estonia, Kosovo, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Latvia, Andorra

Port 6: Malta, Moldova, Liechtenstein, Gibraltar, San Marino

Written By
More from Calvin Andrus

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *