Quantum teleportation won the Nobel Prize in Physics

Quantum teleportation won the Nobel Prize in Physics

“It’s not what we’ve seen in the movies,” said laureate Professor Anton Seilinger.

Alain Aspe (France), John Clauser (USA) and Anton Seelinger (Austria) won the Nobel Prize in Physics for establishing the violation of Bell’s inequalities and pioneering quantum information science. This was announced by the Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Hans Elegren, in a press conference broadcast live on the Nobel Prize website and their social media channels.

Seelinger, a professor of physics at the University of Vienna in Austria and a senior researcher at the Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information at the Austrian Academy of Sciences, and his team demonstrated the phenomenon known as quantum teleportation. Move particles at the quantum level. During the press conference at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Prof. Seilinger participated in the live telephone conversation.

Quantum teleportation is not like what we see in the movies, the Austrian scientist explained in response to a question from a Swedish journalist. This phenomenon uses the entanglement of photons and enables the transfer of all information from one object to another, Seelinger said. According to him, in the future it can be used to carry information.

I have always been interested in quantum mechanics and Prof. Seilinger added. His first experiments with quantum teleportation were conducted in Vienna and had no practical application, but not anymore, he added. The Austrian scientist emphasized that the award is an encouragement to the young people he has worked with over the years and to those who contributed to his discovery.

See also  When and how to look

The first Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded in 1901 to German physicist Wilhelm Röntgen for the discovery of a new type of radiation. More famous laureates in the discipline include Henri Becquerel, Pierre and Marie Curie (1903), Max Planck (1918), Albert Einstein (1921), Niels Bohr (1922), Lev Landau (1962), and Piotr Kapitza (1978). . In 120 years, three women have been awarded the prize (Marie Curie in 1903, Maria Goppert Mayer in 1963, and Andrea Goetz in 2020. Only John Bardin has won the honor twice.

This year’s Nobel Prize distribution began yesterday with the announcement of the Medicine and Physiology laureates. Each laureate will receive a cash prize of 10 million Swedish kroner (about $900,000). The money comes from a bequest from the award’s creator, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, who died in 1895. Prestigious honors with the discipline of chemistry will continue tomorrow, the winner of the Nobel Prize for literature will be announced on Thursday, and for peace on Friday.

Written By
More from Jake Pearson
One Florida man paid off arrears to 114 families
“This year is even more meaningful to me, as last year there...
Read More
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *