Norwegian Abel Prize for American Mathematical Virtuoso

Norwegian Abel Prize for American Mathematical Virtuoso

Norwegian Academy of Sciences appoints American Dennis Sullivan as recipient This year’s Abel Prize“Topology in its broadest sense, especially for his pioneering contribution to algebra, geometry, and dynamics.”

Dennis Sullivan, 81, is a professor at the City University of New York Graduate Center and Stony Brook University in Long Island, United States. He has been affiliated with various universities around the world and has made significant contributions in various fields of mathematics, most notably the theory of confusion, known as topology.

At the end of the 19th century, topology emerged with a new perspective on geometry, in which mathematicians examined the properties of objects that did not change when distorted. Topology A glass, a ball, a fork, and a dish are all the same because the same clay can be easily kneaded into four things. Similarly, a lifeboy can be pinned to the ear with a sewing needle or a cup of coffee. But if we are going to make a sewing needle from a dish, we have to make a hole in the mass of clay, and then the topological properties of the mass change.

Topology has many uses, even outside of mathematics PhysicsEconomics and Computer Science.

Dennis Sullivans Advances solved many old problems, built bridges between different parts of mathematics and changed the field of topology forever.

– Dennis P. Hans Munte-Kass, chairman of the Abel Committee, said in a press release that Sullivan had repeatedly changed the landscape of topology by introducing new ideas, proving central theories, answering old assumptions and creating new problems.

“Sullivan moved from region to region, effortlessly, using algebraic, analytical and geometric ideas like a real virtuoso,” he adds.

See also  The first 'out of the world' video of the Earth astronaut taken from space goes viral

Along with the Fields Medal, the Abel Prize is one of the most prestigious prizes in the world of mathematics. But the Abel Prize is similar to the Nobel Prize because the Fields Medal has a much smaller prize money, given only every four years, and only to those under 40 years of age.

Read more:

She was the first woman to win the world’s best prize in mathematics

The mathematician was diagnosed with paranoid schizophrenia – and now he has another gift

Maria Gunther: Mathematics that explains the inner strangeness of matter

Written By
More from Jake Pearson
Scientists Introduce Energy-Free Frequency Resonators Made Of Glass Nanostrings
Scientists at the University of Oxford and the University of Pennsylvania Suggested...
Read More
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.