New format of competition

New format of competition

Last June, ECPR (European Professional Club Rugby), the governing body and organizer of the Champions Cup, announced a new format for Europe’s top rugby competition. The organization of the competition and the respective teams will be modified, especially due to the integration of South African teams to open the horizons of European rugby, introducing several modifications in terms of the format of this competition. Focus on the new methods of the Champions Cup for the 2022/23 season.

New Champions Cup format for the 2022/23 season

In its new format, the Champions Cup will bring together 24 teams from Europe and South Africa, divided into two pools that will determine qualification and be drawn using a pot system at the end of the summer.

For the composition of these pots, the two finalists from each championship were in Pot 1, the semi-finalists in Pot 2, the 5th and 6th in Pot 3, and the next two in Pot 4.

At the end of all the matches in the first stage, the top eight teams from each group will meet in the round of 16, these encounters will be played in a single match.

The big change is that three South African teams will be taking part in the competition from the United Rugby Championship. This year, it ties with the Stormers (from Cape Town), Bulls (from Pretoria) and Sharks (from Durban).

The amalgamation of these teams has resulted in significant changes to the competition schedule, notably forcing the organizers to focus the group stage on a shorter schedule and a series of meetings, avoiding significant travel between South Africa and Europe and bringing home matches together. of each South African team.

See also  Mountain Biking: A Beautiful Sunday for Couples in Grimault-Rallé, Jugon - VTT

All teams qualified for the Champions Cup

France: Union Bordeaux-Begles, Castres Olympique, ASM Clermont, Stade Rochelle, Lyon OU, Montpellier Herald Rugby, Racing 92, Stade Toulouse.

England: Exeter Chiefs, Gloucester, Harlequins, London Irish, Northampton Saints, Sail Sharks, Saracens, , Leicester Tigers

Ireland: Leinster, Munster, Ulster

Scotland: Edinburgh

Wales: Ospreys

South Africa: Bulls, sharks, storms

Structure of draw caps

  • The number one hat is made by Castres Olympique and Montpellier Herald RugbyLeicester Tigers, Stormers, Saracens and Bulls.
  • Hat number two is made by Union Bordeaux-Béglés and Stade ToulouseHarlequins, Leinster, Northampton and Ulster.
  • Hat number three is made by Racing 92’s Stade RochelleGloucester, Sale, Sharks, Munster.
  • Hat number four is made by AS Clermont Auvergne, LOUExeter, Edinburgh, London Irish, Ospreys.

Maxim Labrot

Big fan of all sports, Olympique de Marseille makes my heart skip a beat, Benoît Paire takes my head, Tiger Woods makes me vibrate.

Written By
More from Calvin Andrus
Fearing a double raid, the Man City player offered Barcelona
Posted on Monday, September 28, 2020 2:46 pm Barcelona have reportedly signed...
Read More
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *