Kenny Collins has been called up to the England squad for the clash

Kenny Collins has been called up to the England squad for the clash

Loton Town striker James Collins has been named in the Ireland squad for the international games against England, Wales and Bulgaria.

The center forward has scored five times for his club this season, scoring the only goal of the game in Luton’s 1-0 win over Rootharm on Wednesday night.

Collins was regularly called up during Mick McCarthy’s reign, however, and Stephen Kenny was the first to include a striker in the squad.

Since Kenny took over as Ireland manager, he has scored just one goal in five games. The manager needs to fill a gap left by David McGoldrick.

Kenny has been named in the 26 – man squad for the upcoming friendly against England at Wembley Stadium on Thursday 12 November, and the UEFA Nations League match in Wales next Sunday.

Ireland welcomes Bulgaria to Aviva Stadium on Wednesday, November 18 for the third match of the International Window.

Captain Seamus Coleman returns to the squad due to injury, while Portsmouth striker Ronan Curtis and Wycombe Wanderers winger Daryl Horgan put in their best performances in the UEFA Nations League match against Finland in October.

Shamrock Rovers midfielder Jack Byrne will link Wales to the team ahead of the UEFA Nations League match.

The team will face London in London on Sunday, November 8, ahead of the international friendly against England.

Squad of the Republic of Ireland

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Cavon Hein Kelleher (Liverpool), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth).

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Kevin Long (Burnley), Shane Duffy (borrowed from Celtic, Brighton, Howe Albion), Joan Shia (West Bromwich Albion).

See also  Northern Ireland and Lithuania Italy's allies will watch Switzerland closely - OA Sport

Midfielders: Connor Harry Rhine (Aston Villa), James McCarthy (Crystal Palace), Harry Arter (Nottingham Forest), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Alan Brown (Preston North End), Jason Molombi (Brighton, Howe) Brady (Burnley), Jack Byrne (Shamrock Rovers).

Forwards: Time Robinson (West Bromwich Albion), Time Oda Dowda (Bristol City), James McLean (Stoke City), Aaron Connolly (Brighton, Howe Albion), Adam Ida (Norwich City), James Collins (Loughton Town) Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth), Daryl Jorgan (Wycombe Wanderers).

Written By
More from Calvin Andrus
Razi: SN rugby has various advantages over going north
As SA rugby moves to determine which franchises will go to Europe...
Read More
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.