Irishman Josh van der Flyer (Leinster) named European Player of the Year

Irishman Josh van der Flyer (Leinster) named European Player of the Year

Despite the victory of Stade Rochales and the presence of Maritime Captain Gregory Aldrit in the five finalists (like Toulouse Antoine DuPont), third-tier Irish winger Josh van der Flyer was named European Player of the Year. Year 2022. He became the third Leinster player to win this individual award, after Irish provincial legends Sean O’Brien (2011) and Rob Kearney (2012). The 29-year-old was presented with the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy after the final at the Stade Velodrome in Marseille.

More than 30,000 votes were cast on the website and in public. Quinlan (two-time Champions Cup / Virgin Media winner), Dimitri Yachvili (EPCR Challenge Cup / French Television winner) – helped determine the winner.

All winners:
2022: Josh van der Flyer (Leinster Rugby)
2021: Antoine DuPont (Toulouse Stadium)
2020: Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)
2019: Alex Good (Saracens)
2018: Leon Nakarawa (Racing 92)
2017: Owen Farrell (Saracens)
2016: Maro Itoje (Saracens)
2015: Nick Abbendon (ASM Clermont Auvergne)
2014: Stephen Armitage (RC Toulon)
2013: Johnny Wilkinson (RC Toulon)
2012: Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby)
2011: Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby)
2010: Ronan Ogara (Monster Rugby – Player of the First 15 Years of the European Cup)

See also  Dinamo Zagreb vs Ludogorets Razgrad
Written By
More from Calvin Andrus
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.