Ireland legends Brian O’Driscoll and Conor Murray ‘World Team of the Decade’

Ireland legends Brian O'Driscoll and Conor Murray 'World Team of the Decade'

Brian Odriscole and Conor Murray were named in the World Rugby Decade squad.

The Irish players join Italian No. 8 Sergio Paris and Welsh flyer Jorge North.


Brian O’Driscole won the Six Nations Trophy in 2009
Connor Murray lifted the Six Nations Trophy in 2018


Connor Murray lifted the Six Nations Trophy in 2018

The southern hemisphere nations New Zealand won all three Rugby World Cups played between 2010-2019 in 2011, 2015 and South Africa in 2019.

Owen Franks, Brody Retallic, Sam Whitelock, Richie McCaw, Dan Carter, Ma Noon and Ben Smith represent the All Blacks in the New Zealand selection.

The front row includes the Franks along with South Africa’s Tendai Mathavarira and Bismarck du Plessis – behind the legendary winger Brian Habana in the third.

Australian flanker David Pocock is named after Blinside Blanker and completes the year.

Irish Tri Winner

Meanwhile, Jamie Healyp’s attempt against Italy during the 2016 Six Nations was dubbed the ‘Tri of the Decade’ by fan votes.

Other awards voted by fans include:

Richie Macau (New Zealand) – Men’s 15 player with Tudor

Women’s 15s Player with Tudor – Jesse Tromoulier (France)

Male Sevens Player of the Decade in association with HSBC – Jerry Tuai (Fiji)

Women’s Sevens Player of the Decade in collaboration with HSBC – Portia Woodman (New Zealand)

Women’s 15th Test with International Rugby Players – Portia Woodman (New Zealand).

Elsewhere, England and New Zealand dominated the Women’s Team of the Decade. . Lydia Thompson (ENG) and Daniel Waterman (ENG) are the names of the year.

Written By
More from Calvin Andrus
Under 21, Irlanda-Italy 0-2: azzurrini di forza a Dublino, segnano Lucca e Cancellieri
Mission irlandese compiuta. L’Italia Under 21 continued your marcia positiva n group’s...
Read More
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.