European Professional Club Rugby | Leicester retained the title that day …

European Professional Club Rugby |  Leicester retained the title that day ...

Leicester became the first team to retain the European title on 25 May 2002 after their victory over Munster Rugby at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff.

2002 – Leicester Tigers 15 Monster Rugby 9

In front of 74,600 spectators at the Millennium Cardiff, the trophy was lifted after two attempts by defending champions Irish Giordan Murphy and Austin Healy. The Monsters had a lot of energy in the fight but had to score three penalties from their opener Ronan O’Gara. When asked about Champions Cup, Leicester captain Martin Johnson said: ” I always had the feeling that we were on top. It was one of those games where we had to win. There was no excitement at the end or anything like that, and winning the trophy again was even more comforting.»

To add the previous second line of XV de la Rose: ” This is very different from the first crown. When you hear stories about teams, in many sports, trying to win a second trophy in a row, it’s a very special feeling.. The Tigers then played two more European Cup finals : Against Wasps (9-25) at Twickenham in 2007. Finally, in 2009, at the Murrayfield (16-19) against the Irish province of Leinster Rugby.

See also  Damien Penard, only Clermontois in the France group
Written By
More from Calvin Andrus
O’Connor and Pogakar Kushi in Terminator Mode – Release
On the Roads of Tour (9/21) Tour de France 2021Dossier Ben O’Connor...
Read More
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.