Disclosure of competitors for the RTÉ Sport Award

Disclosure of competitors for the RTÉ Sport Award

Nominated, RTE Sport 2020 Best Young Athlete and Director of the Year Award

This year’s RTÉ Sports Awards will take place on Thursday, January 28 at RTÉ One.

After an unprecedented year on and off the field, Joan Cantwell and Darag Maloney will set the stage to celebrate the remarkable achievements of Irish athletes in 2020 as they face unprecedented challenges.

Nominations for this year’s RTÉ Sports Team will be announced in the coming days.

RTE Sport announces candidates for the ‘Best Female Athlete of 2020’ award

RTÉ SPORT’s Best Young Athlete

Aaron Hill

Cork teen wrestler Aaron Hill has won his best snooker career by defeating six-time world champion Ronnie O’Sullivan at the European Championships. In March, the 18-year-old won the EBSA U21 European Snooker Championship before becoming a professional.

Kathleen Phelan

Kildare Boxer defeated former German Jessica Shadko of Munich to win the WBC Youth Championship and the WBF and WBA Wellweight Belts. Phelan has had four wins so far in his career.

Ken Barry

The 18-year-old Meath became the Double Darts World Champion after winning the BDO Youth World Championships in London. Barry won the Junior Darts Corporation Global Championship at Alexandra Palace a month ago and his first Challenge Tour title later that year.

Osin Mullin

See also  SGS Essen: Which players travel to their national teams

Fullback Mayo Thorn had a wonderful and memorable year. Kilmain FC highlighted the player’s strength and speed as James Horan became a key player in the finals across Ireland. His consistent strong performance in 2020 was also selected as Team of the Year in Sunday’s game.

Osin O’Callaghan

The youngster from Limerick won a gold medal for Ireland for the first time at the Junior Mountain Bike World Championships in Austria. This is O’Callaghan’s first match at this level. The 17-year-old continued his victory in Austria with a two-stage victory at the recent World Cup in Portugal.

RTÉ SPORT General Manager

Bryan Dowling

In his first year in office, Dowling helped Kilkenny win his second national title since 1994 and commemorates his last dark days at Croke Park. In the second half, Black and Amber put on a stellar performance and avenged last year’s champions, Galway.

Desi Farrell

Desi Farrell made sure things went as usual with a consistent dubs team, making more history by winning 6 consecutive Irish football championships. During a difficult year, the Dublin manager oversaw a team that overthrew everyone in front of him.

John Kelly

Contract director Kelly testified that the strong Limerick list has not failed year after year. They were notable throwers in 2020, winning league and monster titles and reclaiming the Liam McCarthy Cup, which they last won in 2018.

Joseph O’Brien

Joseph O’Brien has once again rejected his father Aidan in the Lexus Melbourne Cup. The 25/1 evening shot led to a lift to win the Group A match in Flemington.

Mick Bohan

Bohan, the women’s football manager in Dublin, led the team to their fourth consecutive TG4 victory in Ireland. Six days before Christmas, Dublin defeated their biggest rival, Cork, in class.

Stephen Bradley

Since 2011, Shamrock Rovers coach has been overseeing the Top Division title. For the first time since the 1926-27 season, Dublin lost the 2020 season.

Written By
More from Calvin Andrus
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *