Brazil and 4 other countries join the UN Security Council - Conselho de Segurança da ONU 

From January 1, Brazil, the United Arab Emirates, Albania, Ghana and Gabon will serve as permanent members of the UN Security Council.

Sputnik – The new non-permanent members of the UN Security Council are Brazil, the United Arab Emirates, Albania, Ghana and Gabon. The UN General Assembly voted on June 11 to select the countries for the 2022-2023 Binanium. They are not permanent replacements for Vietnam, Niger, Tunisia, Estonia, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

India, Mexico, Norway, Ireland and Kenya remain in the non-permanent membership for 2021-2022.

This is the eleventh time Brazil has been a member of the UN Security Council. Ghana and Gabon are not three regulars each, and the UAE will join the body a second time. Albania is the only newcomer.

According to Itamarati, Brazil will seek to translate “other principles enshrined in the 1988 Constitution and the Charter of the United Nations into tangible contributions to peacekeeping and peaceful resolution of disputes.”

As the Russian Foreign Ministry has already stated, Moscow is ready to work closely with new members of the body aimed at “facing challenges and threats in the field of international peace and security.”

Russia is one of the five permanent members of the Council, along with the United States, England, France and China.

Knowledge is free. Learn more. Follow us number Telegram.

To you who came here, Thank you so much for appreciating our content. Unlike the corporate media, Brazil is 247 TV247 They make money for themselves through their own community of readers and viewers. You can support TV 247 and Brazil 247 website in different ways. See how at

Support 247

See also  Irish Siofra O'Leary, ECHR - First woman to assume the presidency of Liberation
Written By
More from Scout Mitchell
A mini Brittany festival to celebrate the twins between Lorient and Galway
Following the delegation’s visit to L’Oreal, a delegation from Galway met with...
Read More
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.